RSS

Five Minute Friday – Grasp

29 Sep

Friday I will begin posting a “Five Minute Friday” writing assignment as part of a Flashmob of writers.  The leader of the group gives an idea and everyone writes for 5 minutes straight.  A constant stream and flow of words with very little editing.  I wrote my ideas on Friday, but waited to write alone first to see how it felt… 

Here are the results:  GRASP

Friday, wake up and grab some coffee.  Grab some glasses, ipod, turn on the power and wifi.  Grab a chair.  Get a grip, wake up … rushing and faltering and heeding no God I try to wake up and function.  My first email has the title Grasp.  The blog topic for a day that I can’t get a grip!

Slow down, wake up, be thankful.  Breathe.

Get Ready And Sit Patiently I think the letters mean.  Get ready and sit patiently while God speaks.  I’m in a flurry of my own doing.  I’m only thinking of all that needs to be done – some for others like a meal for a friend, and an outing I planned with 2 ladies.  Later I pause with the hubby while the “pool boy” puts the salt in our new pool… enjoying coffee, sun, and the concrete under my feet.  The blessing of a really good life – with God’s promise to make it even better.

Call it a lesson learned?  Sometimes I really need God to remind me, when I forget, to seek Him first because everything I try to do myself causes me to struggle in some way, shape or form.

I love the verse – often sung in choir – Psalm 121: 1,2… I lift up my eyes to the hills-where does my help come from?  My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.

Philippians 4:13 says I can do everything through him who gives me strength

Maybe when my feet hit the floor in the morning, I could be thankful first, instead of just caffeine-deprived.   Thank you God!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2012 in Five Minute Friday Flash Mob

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Grasp

  1. Samantha Livingston

    October 4, 2012 at 4:06 PM

    oh, oh! that verse! I used to sing that Psalm in choir years ago too. Would always give me the chills. Something so raw about it. Looking to the hills…love it! Great job on FMF!!! Looks like your voice is a strong one. No need to keep it to yourself!! 🙂

     
  2. Anne

    June 6, 2013 at 1:32 PM

    Love this, Sue!

     

Leave a Reply

 
