RSS

Five Minute Friday – Voice

26 Oct

“Five Minute Friday” writing assignment as part of a Flashmob of writers.  Unscripted.  Unedited.  Real.

Today’s word is Voice

My voice is loud.  Apparently it’s obnoxious at times and tends to run along at a very fast pace.  Blame it on the Northerner in me I guess, but this girl now resides in the South so I’ve slowed it down a bit…

I’ve got a lot to say, and I feel like most people don’t have a lot of time to listen so, I tend to spit out all I have to say fast because who knows when I’ll see them again to finish telling them whatever it is that is SOOOO important…  I have to laugh at myself… like I’m so important that you MUST listen to me Ha!

So, I’m learning to slow it down a bit and learning to be a better listener.  Good idea too, because my prayer life was too full of my voice and not enough of my ears were involved.  I came across the verse Psalm 66:19 that says …but God has surely listened and heard my voice in prayer.  Yes, He hears me … the loud, the soft and the tearful, desperate voice that quite often comes in sobs.  He hears my Voice and yours…

My voice is important to Him, if to none other.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Voice

  1. ofprepositionsprayerandplaydough

    October 26, 2012 at 7:57 PM

    I just came over here from FMF. I struggle with this too. I think everyone should want to listen to me all the time and I forget to be quiet and listen to God and others. Thank you for sharing.

     
    • The Unfinished Child

      October 26, 2012 at 8:40 PM

      Thanks for your imput… funny how we can believe that we are so important when it’s God trying to speak THROUGH us? ; ) I appreciate you stopping by…the encouragement for FMF is awesome! Enjoy the rest of your day, resting in Him…

       
  2. Ginny G

    October 26, 2012 at 8:07 PM

    “My voice is important to Him, if to none other.” This rings so true for me right now! I can always lean on Him and know He hears me, every thought good or bad. Thanks for sharing this!

     
    • The Unfinished Child

      October 26, 2012 at 8:38 PM

      Thanks for you comments Ginny… After reading some of Lisa Jo’s entries, especially this month, I find it encouraging to speak, or write, for the pleasure of His ears….and if it helps another, then that’s what we’re really here blogging for in the first place : ) Have a great Friday!

       
  3. Rebekah (@WeLiveInspired)

    October 27, 2012 at 2:50 AM

    Stopping by to say Hi from FMF! THis post made me smile. While I don’t talk loudly, I do tend to talk fast sometimes and feel I must hurry up so people can hear me 🙂

     
    • Sue

      October 27, 2012 at 7:21 PM

      Thanks Rebekah – I’ve tempered the volume, but the speed, I’m not sure I know how to do that LOL. I’m working on the motivation…and that’s where I think the heart of the matter is… thanks for stopping by! : )
      Sue

       
  4. Janis Cox

    October 27, 2012 at 3:11 AM

    Great post. I particularly liked, “because my prayer life was too full of my voice “. That was so true in my life. Talk and talk to God and forget to be quiet.
    Blessings,
    Jan

     
    • Sue

      October 27, 2012 at 7:22 PM

      Thanks for the visit… I’m finding “we are not alone” is this matter! And thankfully, God’s on our side regardless ; )
      Sue

       
  5. Anne

    June 6, 2013 at 2:12 PM

    Well, since I have lost some hearing in my latter years, I appreciate your LOUD voice even more! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
