RSS

Five Minute Friday – Roots

03 Nov

Five Minute Friday – Roots

When I think of roots, I always think of trees, planting, and household moves.

I loved planting a maple tree with my dad when I was young. Decades later, I’ve gone back and seen the fruit of our labor still standing. Its leaves blowing and showing their silver, fuzzy undersides.

My roots were also firmly planted in that town – only to be removed when I was 13 years old and transplanted 2300 miles away to a somewhat different planet – the desert southwest.

After that transplanting came another with my parents and then a few more as a military spouse and family. Each place I moved involved putting down my roots and usually some trees too.

What’s amazing though, in hindsight, is how much each location and each different soil – all the different churches, friends, environments – helped nourish me and make me grow. So God does have a plan for my life through of these changes – although, at times, I may not have seen that in the midst of the uprooting.

Philippians 1:6 …being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Those changes and “uprooting” have formed me and give me abilities I appreciate greatly today. Especially when they can be beneficial to changes my husband and children go through. Change can be difficult, it’s great to have an enormous God overseeing your planting, transplanting, growth, and sometimes your renewal.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2012 in Five Minute Friday Flash Mob

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Roots

  1. brownpaperandstrings

    November 3, 2012 at 2:59 PM

    Lovely post!

     
  2. michellecollins1971

    November 3, 2012 at 3:30 PM

    Yes. Having moved with my family from UK to Canada – I hear you. I love the line ‘it’s great to have an enormous God overseeing your planting, transplanting, growth, and sometimes your renewal’ So true.
    Share this:

     
    • Sue

      November 3, 2012 at 5:57 PM

      Michelle, it’s a great comfort to let Him do the watching ; )

       

Leave a Reply

 
