RSS

Five Minute Friday – Quiet

09 Nov

The smell of his wet fur is still present on my hands.  The damp towel lies soiled in the box from where his broken body layed.

Nervously I present him to the vet – full, not of hope, but of questions.  “What can we do for him?”  “Fix his breaks or ease his suffering?”  I was clueless how to help, I just knew I couldn’t leave him dying alone in that field.

Just an hour ago he appeared on our porch – a stray – crying to come in.

Just moments ago he was purring and loving on my daughter.

Just seconds ago he was weaving between her feet, making us giddy as she attempted to get to the bus.  He scampers on the bus and on to the seat – much to the delight of the students and the driver.

He’s deaf, he’s broken, there’s nothing they can do….

And now, “We’ll make this quick.  We’ll end his suffering,” she said.

It was a quiet morning that I’ll never forget.

It was joy and then it was sorrow.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2012 in Five Minute Friday Flash Mob

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Quiet

  1. Jess

    November 9, 2012 at 8:45 PM

    I know just how hard it is to hear those words, when that quiet seeps in. *hugs*
    What happened to the cat?

     
    • The Unfinished Child

      November 9, 2012 at 8:55 PM

      He had so many breaks we had to have him put to sleep. They couldn’t do a thing for him poor guy.

       
  2. mslorretty

    November 10, 2012 at 2:53 AM

    Oh I am so sorry. I am a sucker for a kitty face and have 6 “strays” in my little colony here! Family. I understand.

     
  3. susanwalkergirl

    November 10, 2012 at 6:20 PM

    Dear one,

    How sad. But I’m thankful he was in the hands of someone who cared and wanted to help.

     

Leave a Reply

 
