RSS

Five Minute Friday – Wonder

30 Nov

Wonder

The Wonder of it all…

I’m a child and it’s Christmas and I’m lying under the tree – it’s finally put up.  I’m not sure where my Dad gets these trees, but they sure are frustrating to put together!  My brothers try to hold it, getting poked in the face, while my father tries earnestly to attach the tree stand.  Then he has to string it to the doorways near the corner so it stands securely.  There are lots of heated, angry words that fly about – my Dad’s mostly – and a few disgusted looks on the faces of my brothers.  My sister, however, beams.  Shoot, she’s glowing!  And I think she already has ornaments in her hands…  She’s READY!

The lights are on and working and then we add the decorations.  Next, comes the battle of garland vs. icicles.  We must have both on hand because out of nowhere we’re all grabbing silver, shiny, stringy plastic strands and trying our best to drape them on the tree.  I know there’s some banter about singles versus clumps, but I think I’m doing mine right.  And it’s no easy task to add these icicles to the tree because there are abundant amounts of static cling involved.  I believe I hear my Mom mutter from the couch her negative comments about vacuums and icicle strands.  I guess she’s the one who prefers the garland.

But, I lie here, under the tree with all the living room lights off.  I get my head way under next to the stand and look up the center of the tree.  It’s my favorite part.  For me, it is the wonder and beauty of the tree that tells me Christmas is almost here!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Wonder

  1. Janis Cox

    November 30, 2012 at 6:51 PM

    Ah – that is wonder… ful. I could identify with your memories. Love the one icicle at a time. And the vacuuming … right. Linking in from Lisa Jo. Isn’t this a wonder – meeting so many lovely Christ filled people. AMEN.
    I can’t seem to link from my website http://www.janiscox.com where I post. But I can link from my wordpress blog.
    Blessings,
    Jan

     
  2. Sue

    November 30, 2012 at 6:58 PM

    Thanks for the visit Janis! I’m no longer a child, but it’s still my favorite part – looking up from the floor and seeing all the lights….still seeing through those child-like eyes. And I DO love meeting so many Christ-filled bloggers… it is truly encouraging. I was so excited that we had FMF today – I’ll miss it during December!
    Blessing to you friend… and I found your blog site : )
    Sue

     
    • Janis Cox

      November 30, 2012 at 7:20 PM

      I will miss it in December too. I wonder if we could take a word a week that belongs to Christmas and write about that. I don’t have linky links but we could still write. Star, stable, wisemen, shepherds. What do you think? What other words come to mind?
      Blessings,
      Jan http://www.janiscox.com

       
      • Sue

        November 30, 2012 at 7:34 PM

        Janis, I would LOVE that… you should just lead the way! I’m subscribed so if you put it out there, I’ll gladly follow your lead. Maybe we’ll all be centered on the same subject too especially with the holidays! Post it as a blog page in the next few days and I’m sure you have enough followers that would like to play along! And we all know how word of mouth works on the internet! I’m sure Lisa Jo would be proud of us : )
        By the way…I lived in Arizona for a few years…I miss that warm weather this time of year!

         
  3. Phyllis Lipford

    November 30, 2012 at 7:49 PM

    Lovely, lovely, lovely.
    I’ll have to try that … lying way under the tree to see up the center.
    Have a beautifully blessed Christmas! It will be here before we know it.

     
    • Sue

      November 30, 2012 at 8:07 PM

      Phyllis, I still love to do it…it’s just not as easy to get up off the floor anymore lol!
      Sue

       
      • Phyllis Lipford

        December 7, 2012 at 9:14 AM

        Hi Sue,
        I can so relate.
        Did Janis move on her idea?

         
        • Sue

          December 7, 2012 at 1:20 PM

          Phyllis, I’m not sure she did… And she’s had a few blog entries this week… I am using the four Sundays in Advent-they seem pretty meaningful this year.
          Thanks for stopping by … It’s great fun meeting all these ladies through our Five Minute Fridays! It’s fun!
          Sue

           
  4. Mia

    November 30, 2012 at 8:01 PM

    Hi Sue
    I can just picture this scene in my mind!! The boisterous boys irritating your Dad with all their rumbling and tumbling and you, lying quietly under the tree taking little notice of their noise and your sis, like a little angel, cute enough to be a decoration herself!!
    Thank you. I enjoyed this very much
    Mia

     
  5. Sue

    November 30, 2012 at 10:37 PM

    Oh, quit, you’ll make me cry. Glad the ornament made it to it’s rightful owner!

     

Leave a Reply

 
