RSS

Laundry and Intercessory Prayer

07 Dec

christmas violin

I’m seriously trying to fold my husband’s shirts as well as he does. But, I have to {humbly} admit – he is the master of his domain! He does it well and I love the fact that he doesn’t mind doing it. He’s a servant at heart – even in this – a gift to me so precious that it boggles my mind. I mean, it’s ONLY laundry!

I related this in my mind today while praying for others’ requests and needs. How often do we try to outdo God in our prayers for others – our intercessory prayers? We can, and do, often pray according to how we see best for a situation to work out for all involved. But, if we truly love our God and love those for whom we pray, then why don’t we trust God to work out the details? I mean, He is the Master of His domain…

A few years ago my friend Lorrie passed away after a long, three-year battle with breast cancer. Constantly taking treatments, striving hard to treasure her time with her family, continuing to show up in all sort of ways to support her teenage children, she forged onward towards healing.

I was heartbroken when I received her Thank You card for the afghan I made her. As part of a prayer shawl ministry, I prayed for her as I made the blanket…. but the card was more than a Thank You… it was her revelation.

In a brutal honesty, she told me how ravaged her body had become from the cancer and that she was in a great deal of pain. After many prayers, several anointings, and a well-lived life in Christ … she admitted that she believed her healing would not come on this side of heaven.

She and I were only friends a short few years, but I know how much she loved her LORD, and I know the healing came – just not how we, in our earthly eyes, “pictured” it.

This taught me that God’s will isn’t always visible or tangible to us. Our Spirit-filled lives need to quiet our human minds occasionally for us to see the bigger picture. God still desires for us to pray, in love, for these requests of ours and others. But I’m certain of this – He’s going to accomplish things the best way He sees fit. He KNOWS how to do this… He is the master of His domain.

Lorrie was an excellent violinist, and for the last few nights and mornings, my alarm clock radio has been playing Pachelbel’s Canon in D on the radio. (by the Trans Siberian Orchestra) I’m instantly transported back to those days in the Giebelstadt chapel in Germany where she played that very song and my heart bloomed with its sweet sound even in the cold, dark days of Winter. Precious memories that forever changed my life… I can’t wait to see her again someday.

Christmas Canon – Tran-Siberian Orchestra

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cP26ndrmtg

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2012 in Christmas, Life, in general

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Laundry and Intercessory Prayer

  1. Janis Cox

    December 7, 2012 at 5:15 PM

    Would love to repost this on Under the Cover of Prayer.
    Blessings,
    Janis

     
    • Sue

      December 7, 2012 at 7:05 PM

      Janis, that would be lovely of you to share it on your page. Thank you. It was quite a lesson to learn, and it was something very personal to me during Beth Moore’s Daniel Bible study – she just happened to use that sort of faith-building example during the study.

       
  2. Phyllis Lipford

    December 8, 2012 at 6:38 AM

    What a lovely reflection of your beautiful friendship.
    Important lessons, one, how we should cover one another with prayer and faith and love.
    Two, how we must trust the sovereign will of God in all things as HE IS “The Master of His domain”.

     
    • Sue

      December 8, 2012 at 8:14 AM

      Thank you Phyllis, who knew where folding the laundry that day would lead me! It was truly the first time that I experienced praying from afar. I’m such a do-er, and would have been bringing meals, etc to help the family, but we were on different bases so it was actually a lesson for me in praying, not always doing for a change.

       

Leave a Reply

 
