RSS

Sharp Edges and Scripture Memorization

16 Jan

Word

I’m finding a hard, sharp edge on my person today.  Whether it started with pain, or busyness and worked its way into my attitude and helped create my current stress level I’m not sure.  I am unclear of its origin or how to purge it.  It’s a rough edge that I think is my responsibility to correct.

The inside cover of my scripture memorization spiral lists my name and an instructional prayer for my year of scripture memorization.  It goes like this…

{Pray that God will bless you through this endeavor to memorize His Word!!!}

It’s an endeavor, but what is my motivation to do this?  I’m questioning myself, and God, as I pray. 

Is it just something new to do?  Is it based on a desire to interact with others?  Does it help me and guide me in my Christian walk?  Am I deprived of something that I’m hoping this act will fill?  Will it serve as an offensive weapon like the Bible says?  Will my act lead and guide others?

My sharp edge and attitude feel like unworthiness and fear.  These scriptures we choose are to be personally for us, and no one else.  I feel like I’m under God’s microscope or in his sights – like He is centering himself over me as I learn.  These will be my personal lessons, and not instruction for others and truthfully, that makes me a little nervous.  Am I ready to be pruned, again?  Or is this the answer to my prayers for this stage of my life that has been so difficult?

Today I will enter into the memory work on my second scripture verse.  So far, the theme has been about the Word of God…. I go willing forward, accepting the outcome, because God’s divine plan is written in these words that I take to memory and to heart and I will welcome the change… Maybe the next one should focus on fear?

John 1:14

The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us.  We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

This year-long scripture memorization is happening here –> http://blog.lproof.org/

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2013 in Life, in general

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Sharp Edges and Scripture Memorization

  1. Elizabeth Ann

    January 16, 2013 at 10:06 PM

    i love the verse you chose for Beth Moore’s Scripture team! 🙂

     
    • Sue

      January 17, 2013 at 6:13 AM

      Hi there! Thanks for your visit… John 1:1 was my first verse for January 1st. Are you doing the Siesta team too?

       

Leave a Reply

 
