RSS

Five Minute Friday – Again

25 Jan

love

It’s Five Minute Friday!  It’s a chance to write for five minutes flat – Unscripted.  Unedited.  Real.  Just five minutes of focused writing with our “Flashmob of Writers” and it happens here: www.lisajobaker.com

Again

I love the smell and feel of her little kitchen.  The girlie curtains, the little table with a view, and all her diet “talk.”  She treats me with special attention every time I’m over.  Especially when I’m there alone with her and not outside or in the basement playing with her boys.

She’s like my own mother, and sometimes I feel better here than two doors down in my own house.  There’s always a treat for me and a special pat on the head or back.  Her supply of hugs is endless.  She sews for me and when I’m sick I come to her couch.  I’ve never been to anyone else’s house when I was sick and this only happened once.

Again and again – without explanation – this little girl goes to Mrs. Rice’s house and I guess she could be my “sitter” but I feel like just another one of her kids.

I remember well the night she had her little girl and the horrible night little Monica stopped breathing.  But everything turned out well even though we were all scared.

Later in life, I know why those those visits to her house were so precious.  My parents actually had spared me some of their problems at home by sending me two doors down.

How precious it is, to revisit those memories, again.

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Again

  1. Karrilee Aggett

    January 25, 2013 at 2:08 PM

    Beautiful! And what a gift… to have such consistent love – just two doors down! Visiting you from Lisa-Jo’s!

     
    • Sue

      January 26, 2013 at 12:05 PM

      Thanks for your visit Karrilee… I can hardly believe how much she meant to me at that time

       
  2. comealivejenn

    January 25, 2013 at 3:00 PM

    wow what a sweet story of love! thank you

     
    • Sue

      January 26, 2013 at 12:11 PM

      You are quite welcome…thank YOU for your visit!
      Sue

       
  3. Deb Hathaway

    January 25, 2013 at 7:15 PM

    Visiting from FMF… how moving!!! Isn’t it wonderful you have such fond memories… and even more wonderful you shared them with us.

     
    • Sue

      January 26, 2013 at 12:11 PM

      Deb,
      Thank you for your visit! I wish I had contact with her or her sons these days… they’re out there somewhere though!
      Sue

       
  4. shortybear

    January 25, 2013 at 7:43 PM

    Really lovely.

     
  5. Susan Wachtel

    January 26, 2013 at 11:38 AM

    Sue, beautifully written about the precious memories of Mrs Rice. May we all have a haven, a place of peace, grace and rest, just two doors down. In Christ…Susan

     
    • Sue

      January 26, 2013 at 12:07 PM

      Thank you Susan, I guess I never realized how much I needed it – not only a gift from her, but from my Mom too. She was even more blessed I think to have such a wonderful neighbor!

       

Leave a Reply

 
