RSS

Five Minute Friday – Afraid

01 Feb

jaws

It’s Five Minute Friday!  Unscripted.  Unedited.  Real.  Just five minutes of focused writing with our “Flashmob of Writers” and when we finish, we link up and share our love, joy, and common ground with each other.  Come over and join us!   www.lisajobaker.com

Afraid

I’m afraid of the dark.  Especially my backyard out in the country.  It’s very dark.

I’m still occasionally afraid of sharks – you know – in the pool.

And, I’m still {kind of} afraid of that whole Amityville Horror – 30 ft. pig – devil in the basement stuff.  Maybe you can tell that I was a little too young to see a few horror movies in the 70’s?

Who knew then, what we OBVIOUSLY know now, that those kind of movies would scare you for decades?  I get a case of the chills just thinking about that stuff.

But, I’m a grown up, so I get over that scary movie stuff quickly these days.  Between God-based truth and good old-fashioned logic, I have very little to fear these days.  And when I feel compelled to GET fearful about my kids driving around in cars, or my husband’s impending surgery, I know something’s out of balance.  I either need to hit my knees and discuss my options with the LORD, or read my scriptures and see my options.

The first verse I ever memorized as an adult (and kept on an index card that became worn and tattered) was 2 Timothy 1:7.  I was going through a VERY fearful time in my life and it was my “go-to” verse.  I can’t always recall it entirely now, but I know it’s address well.

2 Timothy 1:7 says… For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and self-discipline.

Many other verses and their addresses have etched themselves on my heart during fearful times, but this one, and it’s message, still remains so powerful to me in times when I am afraid.

And maybe, today, when I am very thankful that I don’t dwell in a daily pit of fear, I can hand that verse and that testimony over to someone who is {desperate} like I was.

May God bless YOU today with His power over YOUR fear!

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Afraid

  1. Missy

    February 1, 2013 at 2:11 PM

    Sue! We are kindred spirits. We shall be friends, ok? Kay. This, right here? ” I either need to hit my knees and discuss my options with the LORD, or read my scriptures and see my options.” YES to this. Amen and Amen. And 2 Timothy 1:7 is one of my all time favorite go-to verses as well.

     
    • Sue

      February 1, 2013 at 2:24 PM

      We SHALL be friends…. We are very much alike!
      Thank you for your wonderful comments … and for your visit! I can’t wait to peruse your blog for more F – U – N in my day
      Yes, indeedy!
      Sue

       
  2. Dina

    February 1, 2013 at 2:17 PM

    a spirit of love. that really does conquer all, doesn’t it?!

     
    • Sue

      February 1, 2013 at 2:25 PM

      Dina, thanks for your visit… YES it DOES… we just have to LET it! And I do that much more easily and willingly these days…
      Sue

       
  3. Shanae Branham

    February 1, 2013 at 4:50 PM

    Sue, I appreciate your words. Thank you for sharing!
    Cheers,
    Shanae
    My Five Minute Friday

     
    • Sue

      February 2, 2013 at 6:57 AM

      Thank you for your visit! May God bless your day and weekend!
      Sue

       

Leave a Reply

 
