RSS

Five Minute Friday – What Mom Did

22 Feb

moms geranium

What Mom Did

She struggled.  She made do.  She died way before any of us were prepared for her to go.  She spent most of her adult life existing between the pain in her body and the frustration of a so-so marriage.  She seemed weak, frail, and resigned to this life as it was given to her.

But, when I needed her, she was strong.

I was 17 when I started getting sick – the beginning of my Senior year in high school.  I was in pain, and losing my ability to walk well, losing the sense of hunger, having double vision and I spent almost the whole night crying because I couldn’t sleep.

At 17, my Mom slept in my bed with me because she didn’t know how else to comfort her child … It was just what I needed.

She mysteriously kept her own worry and her back-wrenching pain at bay while I was subjected to many tests.  Some were administered in a clinic, others in an overnight stay at a hospital.  Four months later they knew it was not Multiple Sclerosis, Myasthenia Gravis, or Polio. It was an uncommon viral illness called Guillain-Barré Syndrome – and it would just Go Away …

She sighed heavily the day the doctor called and cried tears of joy as she hugged me. She sighed relief for us all.

She had watched me shrink, watched my clothes droop, watched my muscles disappear in clumps, and managed to keep her cool.

Today, as I remember this one small moment in our life together, my heart swells at the thought of her unselfish love.

The lesson is not lost on this body filled with pain.  She was a rock.  May I be the same for those that I hold dearly.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2013 in Five Minute Friday Flash Mob

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Five Minute Friday – What Mom Did

  1. Sandra Heska King

    February 22, 2013 at 1:44 PM

    Oh, this is beautiful. So beautiful. Sacrifice and love. May I be the same, too.

    And I adore geraniums.

    We’re neighbors for FMF. 🙂

     
    • Sue

      February 22, 2013 at 1:47 PM

      Hi there neighbor! Thank you for your comment… Mom loved her flowers and her birds…and that’s what made this assignment so tough! How do you pick something that can fit in 5 minutes? Plus tissue grabbing, crying and nose-blowing too? Geraniums always remind me of her. I’ll be over to read yours too ; )
      Sue

       
  2. Mama Bear

    March 1, 2013 at 9:34 PM

    I hope my kids will remember me this way. Beautiful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
