RSS

Sunday Morning – Showing up

24 Feb

sonrise

I wake up each day

Expecting a miracle

I drag through each day

Just to get to the end

So I can go to sleep

And dream again

And wake again

And expect again

Many people show up on Sunday for choir, Sunday School, or just the church service with one purpose – to just make it through or to just do what’s expected.

With a smiling face – real or otherwise

With a desire to learn the songs, the scripture, or the lesson.

Regardless of why, they DO come … together, alone, happy, desperate, worried, or tethered by invisible chains that hold them back and hold them down.

They need their music, they need their worship, they need their Jesus, they need their miracle. 

I am never alone in this struggle for a miracle …  In the waiting and the expecting …

Many will kneel at the altar or in their pews, or secretly in their hearts – and they will pray for their miracle.

They’ll pray for God to hear them, to help them, or to heal them.

We will all desire the Redemption, the Restoration, and the Rejuvenation that only a Mighty God can bring.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord,

“plans to prosper you and not to harm you,

plans to give you hope and a future.

Then you will call upon me

and come and pray to me,

and I will listen to you.

You will seek me and find me

when you seek me with all your heart.”

Jeremiah 29:11-13 NIV

His plans, for his miracles, may be an unfathomable mystery for all of us …

But if we call upon Him,

And pray to Him,

He will listen…

Seek Him everyday – not just on Sunday – with all of your heart … and you will find Him …

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 24, 2013 in Life, in general

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
