RSS

Five Minute Friday – Ordinary

01 Mar

pyrex

Ordinary?  Wow, do we even know what that means anymore?  I consulted the Holy Grail of words – the Merriam-Webster dictionary – to see just how they define ordinary.

The definition was this:  a common quality, rank, or ability.

Common, ordinary … I mulled this over in my mind as I was putting up the groceries today and stumbled upon some ordinary things.  My glass measuring cup, the spoon I was using, most of the appliances in my kitchen, etc.  But, what burned in the back of my mind is how poorly people think of ordinary things.  Possessions for the most part.  People really enjoy things that are a little more special, than ordinary.

I was raised by parents who were frugal and held some strong beliefs as to conservation, waste, and needs before wants.  And they believed these things so strongly that they carried out certain practices for all their years of parenthood.  It would be the same rules for me growing up – even though I was the late-comer to the family of five children.  This was a difficult pill to swallow when I was in high school in the 80’s.  Materialism became a very strong influence in my life as a high schooler.

As I became a military wife and mother, there was only so much money to go around and I successfully employed what came naturally to me – I was frugal.  I’m now very thankful for this, but pray that my children will also see the wisdom in this way of life.

In my opinion, I think “ordinary” is who we are.  I also believe in a God who makes us extra-ordinary when He is the one that influences us, and not the world.

1 John 2:17 says this …The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.

I think that ordinary sounds free, and unfettered by the world and its trappings.  And I think God needs us to be just that – ordinary – so that He might shine brighter than our possessions. 

Curious about Five Minute Friday?  It’s like a Flashmob for writers.

A bunch of us, with a one-word prompt, write fearlessly for FIVE minutes and link up together. Join us!

http://lisajobaker.com/

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Ordinary

  1. sarahssundry

    March 1, 2013 at 5:12 PM

    “I think that ordinary sounds free, and unfettered by the world and its trappings. And I think God needs us to be just that – ordinary – so that He might shine brighter than our possessions.” I love this! Amen, amen and AMEN! Thank you for sharing!
    ~Sarah

     
    • Sue

      March 1, 2013 at 5:17 PM

      Thank you Sarah, I’m glad I got an Amen!
      ; )
      Have a great Friday, and I’ll go take a peek at your blog too…
      I Love our Five Minute Fridays!
      Sue

       
  2. Mama Bear

    March 1, 2013 at 7:17 PM

    Love your post and totally agree. We have 4 kids and a very limited income, so we are actually very un-ordinary in the way that we are so frugal and do without in so many ways. But it truly is God who gives us our wonderful extra-ordinary-ness! Plus, I love your ‘Guinea Pigs – They’re Like Hamsters on Steroids’…I’ve got to check that out! We have a HUGE one!

     
    • Sue

      March 1, 2013 at 7:23 PM

      Thanks for your visit and your comment…
      Today we actually took a {gulp} 20% pay cut…. and we know we are in God’s hands with this and that we are thankfully wise with our money.
      My husband works for the Dept. of Defense…
      I will also peruse your blog, I love getting to meet new people on Fridays. We are such an interesting collection of writers ; )
      Sue

       
  3. Abbey @ Surviving Our Blessings

    March 2, 2013 at 1:53 PM

    I’m looking at my Pyrex measuring cup in a new way now! Thanks for sharing with five-minute Friday. I’ll be praying for you with the sequester situation. My husband was laid off this week, and I can relate to that “gulp” feeling.

     
    • Sue

      March 2, 2013 at 2:00 PM

      Abbey, I find more spiritual meaning in the every day stuff than I ever imagined…
      Thanks for your visit AND especially your prayers.
      I may not have ever met you before, but I have been praying for spouses all over the U.S. since I sensed what would unfold back in 2004 when the conflict overseas started…
      A time of trial – May God receive ALL the glory as we lay it at His feet!
      Sue

       

Leave a Reply

 
