RSS

Five Minute Friday – Rest

15 Mar

hiking boots

Ahhh, the illusive idea of rest. I have no idea what that is until I get some.

For almost 5 years now I’ve had no consistent sleep at night. No, I don’t have any infants or toddlers around to blame this on. I’m also not able to say its “the change.” I’m in between those stages of life…I’m stuck in the middle.

I don’t sleep well because my stinking neck hurts and sometimes that wreaks enough havoc…but I get other pains too. I have several areas in my back that cause problems – mainly because I’ve don’t have much of any inward or outward curve to my spine. What doesn’t hurt? My lower back – which is ironic because I ruptured a disc there over 10 years ago.

Rest. It comes in small doses.

It resembles the peace that surpasses all understanding.

Rest came yesterday when I hiked and I sat down on my favorite rock. My rest was in the sun, the breeze, and the fresh air.

Rest – it arrived when the girls got home safely yesterday from a late night school function.

Rest – it’s that unexpected nap I occasionally get that truly refreshes me.

Rest, for me, comes and goes fleetingly – but never without a deep sigh and some serious thankfulness.

It’s like God touches my head and sends this incredible peace straight through my muscles, my bones, and my soul…and makes for a little bubbling happen in the wellspring of my life.

{Way Down Deep} in my soul where only He can reach.

Psalm 62:1

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Rest

  1. Sandra Heska King

    March 15, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    He overwhelms me with His presence and rest when I’m outside, too. It’s like sitting in the lap of my favorite Rock. Praying an extra measure of rest from and through your pain in the coming days. (We’re neighbors today at FMF.)

     
    • Sue

      March 15, 2013 at 1:13 PM

      Thanks for your prayer offering … I think maybe being outside helps all the trappings of man fall away and we can really be closer to Him and He to us.
      Sue

       
  2. Debi Stangeland (@DebiStangeland)

    March 15, 2013 at 3:01 PM

    Ah, I so get this. Life in general, regardless of circumstances can keep us from getting the rest we need, but oh those moments of bliss. I love that you treasure them like we all should. Thank you for sharing today!

     
    • Sue

      March 15, 2013 at 3:04 PM

      Debi, thanks for your visit! I think I treasure them more now than ever-these times of rest have become so infrequent. I try harder to seek Him – He’s so faithful : )

       
  3. Missy

    March 15, 2013 at 9:25 PM

    LOVE that way down soul deep where only He can touch. Love it. That bubbling is a beautiful thing, sister. And, I’m going to be praying for some deep restful sleep for you. (And I love the sneaker/hiking boot/trekkers shot at the top.) πŸ™‚

     
    • Sue

      March 15, 2013 at 9:28 PM

      Thank you Missy, all the extra prayers are appreciated!
      Shots of the shoes…shameless plug for Merrell shoes πŸ˜‰

       

Leave a Reply

 
