RSS

Five Minute Friday – Broken

29 Mar

saguaro

I have been broken.  It has happened once in my life.

Busted-up, bruised, beat down, torn apart, anxiety and fear-ridden and in despair … I’ve seen a lot of those things in my life.

One day, I knew I was completely broken.  I never denied Christ when it came time as a young adult to walk – or spring – to the altar for the first time.

But once, in a country not my own, in a house temporarily my living quarters, on a carpet that I was happy to have, I was broken.

It was the day when I knew only God could work the miracle I needed and for the first time in my life I felt compelled to hit the floor.

I poured out everything I had harbored and asked God to show me what else was in His way of healing me.

“I want you to have it God – all of it.”

Broken became repaired.

Broken became healed.

It started that day, in my soul.

A week later I walked into my military hospital to return my records from the German Neuro Surgery clinic.  My legs walked and my face beamed as I “accidentally” ran into my doctor.  His face lit up and he knew I had been healed.

I said, “God did this.”  He said, “I can see that.”

After a big hug of thanks, I turned on my heels and left to wander the hard cobblestone and brick streets of the city with my family.

Broken, healed, and free.

*******

Curious about Five Minute Friday?  It’s like a Flashmob for writers.

A bunch of us, with a one-word prompt, write fearlessly for FIVE minutes and link up together. Join us!

http://lisajobaker.com/

 
 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Broken

  1. asmallbutmeaningfullife

    March 29, 2013 at 11:14 AM

    Thank you for sharing this story of healing. I love the name of your blog, as we all are “unfinished” children.

     
    • Sue

      March 29, 2013 at 11:27 AM

      Thanks for your visit and your kind words “neighbor.”
      I’ll be over to read yours too ; )

       
  2. Mickie Gable

    March 29, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    That is inspiring

     
    • Sue

      March 29, 2013 at 11:30 AM

      Thanks Mickie … love you dear friend of mine
      ; )

       
  3. Genevieve

    March 30, 2013 at 8:48 PM

    Came here because of your blog titled. One of my favorite quotes is “I’m on the second leg of a return trip to being ME.” Unfinished, yes – but beautiful each moment as we are covered by the healing blood of the Cross.

     
    • Sue

      April 2, 2013 at 3:38 PM

      Thanks for your visit Genevieve!

       
  4. Lila

    March 30, 2013 at 10:35 PM

    Beautiful…

     
    • Sue

      April 2, 2013 at 3:38 PM

      Thank you Lila ; )

       

Leave a Reply

 
