RSS

Five Minute Friday – After

05 Apr

susie2

After all these years…

Brian tosses me into the air over and over again.  I can’t get enough and I squeal “Do! Gain! Mo!” which in my little tiny toddler voice means do it again, more.

No matter how many candles are on my cake, I will never get those words out of my mind.  They are on the tip of my tongue at every family gathering and have to be one of THE best memories of my childhood.

My brother seems to like that memory the best as well.  He reminds me of it every time he has a chance.  It doesn’t matter that I’m 47 and he’s 57 and that I was probably 2 when I first started saying it.  These memories and that kind of time just stands still in a family.

The time when we all lived under one roof.

The time when we all shared one bathroom.

The time when we all ate at the same dining room table.

I was the baby of 5 kids and they all apparently thought that I was “their” baby.  I hear all sorts of stories about my arrival into the family and how everyone watched after me.  I also hear my sister and brothers point the finger at who was the first one to drop me.

And after all these years… it never gets old.  The retelling and the warmth of those memories… they’ll be ours forever.

*******

Curious about Five Minute Friday?  It’s like a Flashmob for writers.

A bunch of us, with a one-word prompt, write fearlessly for FIVE minutes and link up together. Join us!

http://lisajobaker.com/

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Five Minute Friday – After

  1. reb

    April 5, 2013 at 4:38 PM

    I like this a lot….visions of a tight-knit family all together and enjoying each other. How many times have I heard people complain about things like only having one bathroom for however many people, yet here you have it as a fond memory. 🙂 Thank you for sharing this!

     
    • Sue

      April 6, 2013 at 9:03 AM

      Rebecca, thanks for coming over “neighbor.” I have to admit my memories of that one bathroom were good…but they were all teenagers trying to share so I believe it was harder on them. It was a special time for us when we were all together in that one house.

       
  2. thehippygeek

    April 5, 2013 at 4:47 PM

    It’s always good to hear happy stories about siblings. I hope my two grow up with memories like these.

     
    • Sue

      April 6, 2013 at 9:00 AM

      Thanks for your comments. These were great times, and I’ve tried to encourage that with my 3 as well…

       

Leave a Reply

 
