RSS

Five Minute Friday – Friend

26 Apr

Old Tucson  {My Best Friend and Me}

A friend loves at all times.

Poverbs 17:17a

“Let me tell you about my best friend…”  (Sing with me if you know that tune!)

That was a favorite song to sing along to when I was a child in the 1970’s.  It was a theme song to a TV show called “The Courtship of Eddie’s Father” starring Bill Bixby.

Well, so let me tell you, I have LOTS of friends and acquaintances – and strangers that I treat as friends.

Just recently I met an Hispanic couple in line at Wal-Mart and had the sweetest time talking to them while the customer in front of them was having difficulties.  Believe it or not, by the end of the conversation, I knew SO much of their history.

Because I ask.  Because I listen.  Because I care.

How DOES a man get from Peru to America and survive military service in Vietnam?  Now I know.

People need to be heard.  They need to share their story.

They need to have fellowship – on a heart level – with their fellow humans.

{YES}  Even in Wal-Mart … During a long delay … When most people would be a little aggravated …

This was the perfect opportunity to do what I was designed to do – I made a friend…

Actually, I made two.

mybestfriend2  {Still Crazy After All These Years}

Curious about Five Minute Friday?  It’s like a Flashmob for writers.

A bunch of us, with a one-word prompt, write fearlessly for FIVE minutes and link up together. Join us!

http://lisajobaker.com/

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Friend

  1. shortybear

    April 26, 2013 at 6:58 PM

    Such a fun post.

     
  2. Rebekah Ruth (@RebekahRuth17)

    April 26, 2013 at 7:39 PM

    ooh…love this post. I want to run into you at walmart 🙂 I love your spirit and I bet you’re contagious. Thanks for the reminder to ask people about their stories! Blessings Sue!

     
    • Sue

      April 26, 2013 at 7:41 PM

      Thanks for your visit and your comments…
      Maybe we HAVE run into each other
      ; ) Stranger things have happened lol!

       
  3. cindisummerlin

    April 27, 2013 at 8:57 AM

    Hello neighbor and friend… Thank you for your comments!!!

     
  4. Tanya M.

    April 27, 2013 at 12:14 PM

    Loved this post. You inspire me to do what I’ve always been reluctant to do – to be THAT person wherever I go. Bless you for asking, listening, and caring. I’m inspired. ~Tanya, stopping by from FMF.

     
    • Sue

      April 27, 2013 at 12:23 PM

      Great to meet you Tanya!!!
      I think I was designed to do this and since I don’t have many friends here, I do what feels natural now.

      Be inspired and act on it… You just don’t know who’s waiting to meet you!

      Thanks for your visit 😊

       
  5. asmallbutmeaningfullife

    April 27, 2013 at 4:41 PM

    great post…so you are one of “those” people who talk in line and make the most of everything. love it. keep spreading your sunshine. thanks for visiting.

     
    • Sue

      April 28, 2013 at 1:16 PM

      Funny thing is, I’m always in the line that has problems ☺
      I used to think it was a good way for God to teach me patience… Then I started to see the bigger picture
      Thanks for your visit!

       
  6. pamela hodges

    April 27, 2013 at 4:45 PM

    I would love to meet you in line waiting to pay for my food. You are a friend.

     
    • Sue

      April 28, 2013 at 1:18 PM

      I guess it might be a little less painful when paying the grocery bill if you had a friend nearby 😉
      Thanks for your visit

       
  7. Barbie

    April 28, 2013 at 1:08 AM

    Lovely post. I believe everyone has a story to tell. The question is, are we listening? Stopped over from the Five MInute Friday. Have a blessed week.

     
    • Sue

      April 28, 2013 at 1:19 PM

      Thanks Barbie, and learning to listen has been a huge lesson for me…
      Thanks for stopping by!

       

Leave a Reply

 
