RSS

Five Minute Friday – Brave?

05 May

It’s late.. and it’s Saturday night, not Friday like usual.  And this will probably publish on Sunday.

No guilt there, just truth.  “Brave” was in my email early Friday morning and it shattered me into all sorts of pieces.

{I felt like sugar dissolving in my coffee.}

brave

Brave –

Could it escape my lips

These thoughts that I have?

Could I tell the truth

Would it heal like a salve?

Contemplation, complex thoughts,

Worried and overwrought,

I find very little peace

Among this tiny space

Inside my mind,

Inside my heart.

Bravery is not what comes to mind

Cowardice is more likely the term

Leaning, falling, tossing about

Chaos all around.

Bravery should come with a shout.

But as I sift through

My pile of junk

I feel heavy

and weighted

and sunk.

I do know the light is there,

I see Him who guides my path,

Who holds my hand in the dark,

Who breathes new life into me each day.

He who carries me back up,

Lifting my cares and worries for me,

Lightening my load,

Lifting all my burdens.

Taking all my shame,

Back to the cross where it belongs,

Where He will hold it to his heart,

With all the other burdens there,

And tell me again,

“I love you this much…”

Curious about Five Minute Friday?  It’s like a Flashmob for writers.

A bunch of us, with a one-word prompt, write fearlessly for FIVE minutes and link up together. Join us!

http://lisajobaker.com/

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Brave?

  1. D'Anne Hotchkiss

    May 5, 2013 at 2:31 PM

    Sue – wow, great inspiration and yet I am awed by your humility. Sometimes we are our most brave when we least feel our bravery.

     
  2. shortybear

    May 5, 2013 at 6:40 PM

    Awesome post.

     
  3. Heather Meyer

    May 7, 2013 at 6:00 AM

    Linking up through FMF. Loved your post and the way it revealed some of the complexities involved in all our thought processes and our small steps towards bravery …and believing Him and His truth about us.

     
  4. Rebekah Ruth (@RebekahRuth17)

    May 18, 2013 at 10:02 PM

    beautiful post, Sue. thank you for being vulnerable and real 🙂

     
    • Sue

      May 19, 2013 at 6:38 AM

      Rebekah, that’s what I have in abundance lately-vulnerability
      ; )
      Thanks for your visit…

       

Leave a Reply

 
