RSS

Five Minute Friday – Comfort

10 May

comforter

The comforter on my bed is very new.  Which is why I can tell you – I’m not happy about the sad shape it’s in.  It has a tan color to hide cat hairs that love to accumulate on my bed.  You know, cats accumulate there whether they’ve asked permission or not… I had that in mind when I bought it actually… The thing is, it has kind of a satiny finish to it.

So, this comforter – it does comfort.  It adds a nice layer that keeps us warm on those chilly nights.  The cats apparently find this appealing as well.

Their nails, however, catch on the satiny fabric.  There are little snags all over it.

Don’t get me wrong…it still functions, but it’s a mess to look at, considering it so new.

{Still functions – but kind of a mess}

Well, you might as well know, that describes me lately as well.  A bit of a mess to look at and deal with lately – but still functioning.

A good Bible verse came to mind this morning when I saw the word comfort as our word prompt.

2 Corinthians 1:3-5

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.  For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ.

Me.. a little messy, still functioning, and hopefully still comforting…

*Curious about Five Minute Friday?  It’s like a Flashmob for writers.*

A bunch of us, with a one-word prompt, write fearlessly for FIVE minutes and link up together. Join us!

http://lisajobaker.com/

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Comfort

  1. Susan

    May 10, 2013 at 6:23 PM

    I LOVED this. Because my comforter has kitty-snags all over it, too. And I’m also a little snagged, a little messy, a little unraveled, but still functioning. You comforted me. I hope I can pass it on. Thank you!

     
    • Sue

      May 10, 2013 at 6:25 PM

      Sometimes… I think I’m the only one… Until Fridays come along and many of us are in the same boat!
      Thanks for your visit!

       
  2. Rachel @ Rooms Of Knowledge

    May 10, 2013 at 6:25 PM

    I picked a new comforter out at Christmas and the dog LOVES to lay on it. But it has that satiny finish on the top too. And I now have a lint roller in my nightstand drawer to get the hair off when it really starts to bother me. (Visiting from FMF)

     
    • Sue

      May 10, 2013 at 8:57 PM

      Yeah… We have that lint roller handy as well too…
      ; )

       
  3. Sandra Libby

    May 10, 2013 at 8:50 PM

    I so love your analogy. And too often I identify with it! A little rundown and ragged but still functioning. A good thought to remember. Thank you for sharing.

     
    • Sue

      May 10, 2013 at 8:53 PM

      Thanks for your visit Sandra… Guess I didn’t imagine this would be something so many others would identify with…

       
  4. Marcy Hanson

    May 10, 2013 at 9:30 PM

    Cat’s have a way of doing that, don’t they?? I love your analogy-so exactly fitting me right now! thank you for your words!

     
    • Sue

      May 10, 2013 at 9:33 PM

      Thanks for you visit Marcy… That analogy just came poring out when I sat down to write it out.. (That happens a lot!)

       

Leave a Reply

 
