RSS

Five Minute Friday – Fight

04 Jan

On Fridays… we “shush” the inner critic and run amok with our words.  Allowing to exercise our free-flowing words with a word prompt from our fearless community leader Lisa Jo Baker.  Then we join together and encourage each other – kind of like a Flashmob for Writers.

www.lisajobaker.com

 

Wow, ok, this word holds WAY too much weight and significance in my life these days …

Some days, during actual arguments, this word “fight” has become so very negative.

I am thankful to have perspective on this word and don’t allow it to only pertain to the negative aspects of life … AND occasionally, that perspective comes on FASTER than HINDSIGHT …

{ Meaning, I can SOMETIMES get a clue

before I open my mouth or allow my mind to steer in the wrong direction.}

Say, in the case of illness… we occasionally have to fight to stay well.  Extra hand washing, etc. during the flu season.

In the case of depression, I have fought by asking for help, trying the generous advice given by some of my close friends, and on a few instances – taking medicines prescribed for depression.

I guess in my life … I don’t know how NOT to fight.  I was, after all, the baby of five kids…I was scrappy and fought hard under all that generous sibling rivalry going on around me.  (I was, however, everyone’s favorite)

How NOT to fight for what seems right, good, Godly, and to stand up or stand in for those who can’t do so for themselves just doesn’t seem to be in my DNA.

Fight can be a good thing.  Especially without the “foot in my mouth” disease that comes in the negative arguments.

Ok, well, I thought all this up this morning as I put up a good fight to stay warm in the last hot shower of the day.  YIKES… It’s FRIGID even here in the South this week!!!

Stay warm and safe out there my friends …

sunset

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Fight

  1. Anne

    January 4, 2014 at 1:24 PM

    You are right. So many ways to look at the word “fight” and so many directions I could have gone with it. Thanks for this post. I, too, have fought for and against some of the same things you have. Visiting from right after you at Lisa’s blog. Blessings!

     
    • Sue

      January 4, 2014 at 1:28 PM

      Anne, thanks for stopping by, neighbor! I guess there HAS to be a positive perspective… otherwise no one would Fight to overcome : ) Have a great Saturday!

       
  2. Leah J's Word Trips

    January 4, 2014 at 11:39 PM

    I like the way you think and I love the title of your blog :)!

     
    • Sue

      January 5, 2014 at 2:40 PM

      Thank you Leah for your visit AND your kind words : )

       
  3. Lila

    January 5, 2014 at 7:53 PM

    Never give up the fight! As always, I love your words!!!

     
    • Sue

      January 5, 2014 at 7:55 PM

      Hey there! Glad to see you and thank you for the compliment ☺️

       

Leave a Reply

 
