RSS

Five Minute Friday ~ Writer

05 Apr

On Fridays… we “shhhh” the inner critic and run freely with our words.  Allowing ourselves to exercise our free-flowing words with a one word prompt from our fearless community leader Lisa Jo Baker.  Then we join together and encourage each other – kind of like a Flashmob for Writers.

www.lisajobaker.com

Intense Light

How can I pass up a Five Minute Friday prompt that shouts at me …

Doubt!

Worry!

Frustration!

Empowerment?

Encouragement?

Self-Esteem?

Time?!

Labor?!

Aches and Pains?!

What, didn’t your email speak those words to you?

Mine did… because I’m a writer and I think about all those things when Lisa Jo sends the prompt on Fridays.  Doubt I’ll write today, I’m frustrated I didn’t have time to write, etc.

See why I can’t pass up a juicy tidbit of a word like Writer?  It invokes so much emotion in me that I, well, I was ALMOST propelled to the keyboard on Friday.  I did take notes in my phone immediately though, and that’s enough..

I write because I have doubt, and so do others.  That encourages us, empowers us and it’s a labor of love through the aches and pains and the groanings of life.  It can propel us to SKIP washing the dishes ask for help with the kids so we can squeeze in a little time to write.

And I love it… and linking up on Fridays is really fun and has been a blessing in my life that took away some of the doubt, and definitely gave me some new friends with tons of encouragement!

Have a great weekend… and WRITE something!  You know, if you have time ~ No pressure ~ Just sayin …

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Five Minute Friday ~ Writer

  1. Ava Sophie

    April 5, 2014 at 4:22 PM

    I must admit you hit me spot on…YES, that’s basically the same words my email spoke to me while getting the Five minute Friday prompt. And it is exhilarating to skip something that has to be done just to get a few minutes writing, no matter how scary. I think it is conquering that fear or doubt that makes it so exhilarating, along with the joy of just expressing our self! Glad you didn’t give in to that doubt!
    -Ava Sophie

     
    • Sue

      April 5, 2014 at 4:24 PM

      So glad you came by and read mine as well… and now that I’ve read a few others…
      pssst “we are not alone”
      Have a great weekend!

       
      • Ava Sophie

        April 5, 2014 at 4:27 PM

        Well, it is so fun and inspiring to see all the good others write! And we’re all so different but also in the same “boat”, so it’s nice to connect… I wish you a great weekend as well!

         
  2. celticmama36

    April 5, 2014 at 5:08 PM

    I have lots of doubt, mostly these days doubting the sensibility of publishing my poems. It hasn’t at all been a confidence booster. Quite the opposite, really. Maybe they were just meant for my own eyes, those heart words. I am driven to write, but often am blocked, not knowing what to write because there is so much on my heart that wants to get out but can’t.

    Best wishes to you as you find time to write!

     
    • Sue

      April 5, 2014 at 5:13 PM

      I think the doubt is so common. Have you seen the Five Minute Friday writing group? Lots of writers that seem to have the same fears and doubts… We all write together on Fridays (usually)

      We all wrote on the one-word prompt “writer” today at http://www.lisajobaker.com

       
      • celticmama36

        April 5, 2014 at 5:18 PM

        Thank you. Yes, I am familiar with Five Minute Friday. I started doing those posts off and on a couple of years ago back when Lisa-Jo went by the name The Gypsy Mama. She is a great writer, isn’t she? She pretty nearly always tugs at my heart strings.

        It would be great if we could all get to the point of not doubting ourselves, where we could write with abandon and no fear of unwarranted negative, unhelpful, unconstructive feedback. Now, that would be pretty nearly Heaven on earth, wouldn’t it?

        Have a great weekend!

         
        • Ava Sophie

          April 6, 2014 at 4:18 PM

          I think perhaps the only way to get to that “heavenly on earth”-point is to keep pushing ourselves beyond the fear and doubt we have. And slowly we conquer that fear(or doubt) and it bother us less. We control our thoughts, and can learn to “kick out” thoughts that don’t tell the truth–like doubt about if we’re good enough. I’ve heard a saying that says something like, ” You can’t stop the bird from flying above your head, but you can stop it from building a nest on your head.”

          Eventually you start believing in yourself and get peace from the fear and doubt. Take it from someone with lot of experience with fear and anxiety. Bless you! Wish you the best week!

           

Leave a Reply

 
