RSS

Advent – Reflections on Hope

04 Dec

Hope candle

I hope he makes his connections.

I hope the weather there isn’t too cold.

I hope his back holds out during this trip.

I hope they don’t have problems with their rental if they go to NYC.

I hope, I hope, I hope

How many of these hopes of mine are really fears?  How long will I walk along with one hand over my eyes – only wanting to peak occasionally to see if things are going alright “out there.”

I hope he doesn’t bring home the flu – it would be devastating for me to catch it twice in one year.  And NONE of us want to be sick during the holidays.

The scent of my unlit vanilla candle tickles my nose with its sweet fragrance reminding me how powerful it can be when it’s lit.  My fears, when imagined, have so much power over me.  But a Spirit-filled, Christian body can squash those fears!  Right?  Anybody want to help me remember that???  Oh, yes… I should find that in my Bible – how silly of me?!

Read His Word.  Hope is more than something that gets us through our fears and troubles.  Hope is more powerful than that!  It’s bigger than me, my strength, and bigger than my fears.  It comes from Almighty God – ruler of the heavens and the earth!

Psalm 147:  10-11

His pleasure is not in the strength of the horse,
nor his delight in the legs of the warrior;
11 the Lord delights in those who fear him,
who put their hope in his unfailing love.

I hope, because He delights in me…Thank you Jesus for your HOPE!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 4, 2012 in Christmas, Life, in general

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Advent – Reflections on Hope

  1. Janis Cox

    December 7, 2012 at 5:11 PM

    Beautiful. I hope you have a marvelous Advent … the coming of Christ.
    Blessings,
    Jan Cox http://www.janiscox.com

     

Leave a comment