RSS

Five Minute Friday – Remember

22 Mar

Rothenburg Volksmarch

Volksmarching Group

Rothenburg ob der Tauber

In a thousand ways I remember.

It’s one of the hardest words I deal with in my life.  It’s painful, and it’s full of loss, and it’s joy.

This morning it’s full of tears – streaming down my face onto this notebook of mine as I deal with constant reminders of things I’ll never forget.

Someone once explained that quite possibly significant memories are marked in your brain by the outpouring of adrenaline that occurs at an event.

I’m at no loss in the adrenaline department.

Once it was loss – of a Mother – when none of us saw it coming.  I remember dropping to the floor in disbelief and crying out.

Once it was the loss – of a friend – who struggled for years against cancer.  I remember the sorrow of her passing and the sweetness of her walk with the LORD.

I remember those crazy days of childbirth and the complete exhilaration and joy.

I remember the loss of the ones who have chosen to walk out of my life leaving me with empty arms.

I remember the excitement of buying our first house and all the fun times we had with my children there in those years.

I remember Germany, and the vivid and plentiful memories.  I feel like we lived there yesterday and not 12 years ago.

Most of all, I know that when I forget things, and I feel like I’m losing some precious memories these days… that there are a thousand people who will never let me forget … and that brings hope and joy.  I’m not the only one who remembers …

Deep, Deep Joy. 

*******

Curious about Five Minute Friday?  It’s like a Flashmob for writers.

A bunch of us, with a one-word prompt, write fearlessly for FIVE minutes and link up together. Join us!

http://lisajobaker.com/

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Five Minute Friday – Remember

  1. WesAnna

    March 22, 2013 at 8:45 AM

    Beautiful! Thank you for sharing this.

     
  2. Missy

    March 22, 2013 at 12:26 PM

    Oh, friend… These are beautiful memories to share. Some, many of us share together. Others, painful or precious ones just for you. Thank you for baring your heart here. It was an honor to read.

     
    • Sue

      March 22, 2013 at 1:03 PM

      Thanks Missy, it was a bit of a tearful week missing my Mom … but this is life, on the planet…and one day it will be Heaven and there will be no more tears.

       

Leave a Reply

 
