RSS

Maya the Thief

20 Mar

maya closeup

My youngest cat Maya thinks she is so awesome.

The way she can steal a piece of paper is amazing… not to mention it’s a real mystery WHERE she is getting my little receipts and small paper items.  Every time we look in the office everything APPEARS to be in place.  Another favorite item up for her theft is the paper dinner napkins.  She must hear us from the far reaches of the house when we carefully remove a few from the napkin holder to set the table.  She’s up into a chair and sneaking her little paw over the edge (just her paw, it’s so cute) and swiping the paper.  Quick too, like while the table setter is over at the silverware drawer – Fast!

Every cat we’ve ever owned has had some quirky trait, or traits, that begin to show up as the cat matures.  Usually by age 2 there’s at least one annoying thing the cat continues to do at least on a weekly basis.  This youngster is starting early – she’s just turned a year old.  And just yesterday… she stole a tape dispenser!  Really??? A plastic, Scotch tape dispenser?!  She carried it out of one of the kid’s rooms in her mouth and into the kitchen where she was “busted” by my teenager.

Yeah, busted…by the humans who, of course, thought it was hilarious.  It was just like trying to reprimand a kid while you’re laughing.  Ridiculous and Impossible!  Somehow I think we all have this “Food Chain” out-of-order.  Cats are clearly quite craftier than we think.

Some of these peculiar traits are funny, and usually provide a constant amusement beyond the playful kitten stages. However, some are late in the arrival…say when the cat has made their home here for like 5 or 6 years!  Those are the days when you just want to pull your hair out…. Recently one of our cats just started jumping and grabbing door jambs.  What???? I said “No No” every time he did it, but it didn’t work – this time.

Cats are amazingly trainable and we’ve used many of the same methods that we used on the dogs.  But you have to be patient.  Like sometimes patient FOREVER … cause some stuff “just don’t stick” with cats.

When I wrote my last blog about training children and helping them to learn to try new foods, I couldn’t help but reflect on the animals that run wild in our house.  They help me to remember to {Let Go} of stuff that “just don’t stick.”  I have herded and tried to control the animals, the kids, the junk in the house that breaks… but there are some things that “just don’t stick” and I’m truly wasting my energy in the wrong place.

Control is an illusion.  It’s not in my power to control stuff no matter how I try.  Control belongs to God.  He created these creatures and if he wants, he can keep them from scratching the furniture.  Again.  And Again.

Everything’s a test in my life or a lesson to be learned – mostly because I know God and His ways are great and good and serve a purpose in my life.  Teaching me about letting go is high on God’s priority list apparently…kind of like His ability to teach patience…

Once, many years ago, I learned that I was putting things on the altar only to pick them back up the next day usually.  This one time, I clearly remember, I struggled to the point of letting it go…someone gave me a piece of chalk and had me mark an X on the back of the altar…. I was blown away.  That X is still there and no longer do I carry that burden with me anymore from that very moment forward.  See, sometimes we have to make a tangible or visible effort to {Let It Go}.

Letting go is hard and requires practice.  I practiced it last week when my two children drove off together for an event that would bring them home in the dark.  I cried, then I let it go.  I can’t control what’s going to happen to them every time they get behind the wheel – and I don’t want to, truthfully.  God does much bigger and better things with WHATEVER happens!

I just need to lean into His open arms where His trust lies and {Let It Go}

Proverbs 3: 5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart

and lean not on your own understanding;

in all your ways submit to him,

and He will make your paths straight.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 20, 2013 in Life, in general

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Maya the Thief

  1. Missy

    March 22, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    Okay, I totally learned something new about you here. Let’s chat offline, PLEASE for the love of all that’s good in our fridge, about getting children to try new foods. And, again, despite your love of cats, I am so glad we found each other in the blogosphere!

     

Leave a Reply

 
